Saturday, December 11, 2010

Challenge... Accepted!

Based upon yesterday's comments, putting together an All Time All Ivy team of guys who did not win the Bushnell might be a fun project on a slow news day. :)


The Bushnell Cup was established in 1970. So who are the best Ivy players since then who never won the player of the year award?

Here’s my list. Critique away:


WR Don Clune Penn
WR Craig Morton Dartmouth
TE John Spagnola Yale
TE Steve Jordan Brown
OL Dan Jiggets Harvard
OL Joe Valerio Penn
OL Craig Valentine Columbia
OL Matt Birk Harvard
OL Kevin Boothe Cornell
RB Clifton Dawson Harvard
RB Kenny Hill Yale
QB Jason McCullough
K Nick Lowery Dartmouth


DL Marcellus Wiley Columbia
DL Tom McHale Cornell
DL Seth Payne Cornell
DL Tom Csatari Dartmouth
LB Reggie Williams Dartmouth
LB Jeff Rohrer Yale
LB Zack DeOssie Brown
LB Rory Wilfork Columbia
DB Dean Cain Princeton
DB Ted Gregory Columbia
DB Lloyd Lee Dartmouth
DB Jay McCareins
WR/P Pat McInally Harvard

This list was really hard to come up with and it has some inherent imbalances.

For one thing, the defensive list is filled with generally better players than the offense because just about every truly outstanding offensive skill position player in the Ivies has won a Bushnell Cup.

For example, the defensive list includes an NFL Hall of Famer in Reggie Williams while the crucial QB position is held by Jason McCullough, a outstanding player, but not in Williams' league.

I expect a lot of changes in this list just in my mind in the coming years, and that doesn't include what future players will do to mess it all up.


At Sat Dec 11, 08:30:00 PM GMT+7, Blogger Bruce Wood said...

Gessner should be listed for Brown. If you want a wide receiver from Dartmouth I'd go with Craig Morton, who would have other-worldly numbers if he played in today's offenses.

At Sat Dec 11, 08:39:00 PM GMT+7, Blogger Jake said...

Yep, Morton is who I meant! I need more sleep!

At Sat Dec 11, 09:28:00 PM GMT+7, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Des Worthman???

At Sun Dec 12, 12:02:00 AM GMT+7, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Yes for Des!

At Sun Dec 12, 09:39:00 AM GMT+7, Anonymous Anonymous said...

No Miles Macick? No Isaiah K? No Dante B? No Zack Walz?

At Mon Dec 13, 09:29:00 AM GMT+7, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Jake, impressive one-day turnaround on this assignment.

At Mon Dec 13, 09:09:00 PM GMT+7, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Small clarification-- Reggie Williams is in the NCAA Football Hall of Fame. He is not in the NFL Hall of Fame. He had a great pro career, but he played at the same time as some of the NFL's best linebackers ever... He also made first team All-American when the Ivy was still a Division I conference.

At Fri Dec 17, 05:11:00 AM GMT+7, Anonymous Anonymous said...

No Ed Marinaro from Cornell, come on?

At Fri Dec 17, 05:17:00 AM GMT+7, Blogger Jake said...

Marinaro won not one, but TWO, Bushnell Cups. This is the list of the best non-Bushnell winners. Please read more carefully.


Post a Comment

<< Home