Thursday, December 09, 2010

Arizona Addition

Sean Coffinger

Desert Vista HS TE/DE Sean Coffinger has committed to Columbia's class of 2015.

Coffinger is a young man well beyond his years when it comes to leadership. He was the heart and soul of a Desert Vista team that surprised everyone with a 10-3 season.

Coffinger is the first documented Desert Hills student to commit to Columbia football.

Bushnell Reform

Thanks to Bruce Wood at the Big Green Alert Blog for alerting me to this piece from the Daily Pennsylvanian Blog that FINALLY explains how the Bushnell Cup voting process is conducted.

Here are my two biggest burning questions about this process:

How the heck does each head coach decide on the name of ONE player to throw into the voting hopper? In Columbia’s case, the choice between Alex Gross and Sean Brackett must have be agonizing for Coach Wilson.
Is it wisest to allow these decisions to be made by the coaches only?

Since it’s been 27 years since a Columbia player has been fortunate enough to win a Bushnell Cup, it seems this process hasn’t been that favorable to the Lions.

Don’t get me wrong, I realize the BIGGEST reason why Columbia has been Bushnell-free since 1983 is because the Lions just haven’t had enough winning seasons to earn one.

But the stars of the 1994 and 1996 winning teams, people like Rory Wilfork and Marcellus Wiley just to name two, seem to have been snubbed by this process.

What’s the solution?

Obviously, having me be the sole decider of who wins the Cup is the BEST choice and I will let you know what the league officials think about that idea.

But in all seriousness, should a group of journalists be allowed to vote as well?

What about team captains? They would know which opposing players frightened them the most from week to week, right?

All I know is that Columbia’s exclusions aside, this Bushnell Cup voting process seems flawed and it should be remedied.


At Thu Dec 09, 08:44:00 PM GMT+7, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Jake, the Penn article actually says each coach "nominates his own players" (not single player). The article doesn't say how many players he gets to nominate, but a good guess might be 3, based on the second round voting? Still, it remains unfortunately unclear.

At Thu Dec 09, 10:03:00 PM GMT+7, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Jake, your complaints about the Bushnell voting process sound like Hillary Clinton advocating that the electoral college be abolished after Al Gore lost to George W Bush despite winning the popular vote. There is a reason that we do certain things via a well-thought-out process and the fact that you do not like the outcome in one particular year does not necessarily mean it is the process which is flawed.

Why SHOULDN'T coaches nominate their own players? If a guy is good on the field but disruptive in the locker room, who would know better than the coach? For all the worrying this year that Brackett and Gross would "split" Columbia votes, why WOULDN'T we want Norries Wilson, who knows each player better than journalists do, to make the call between them?

As you concede, Columbia has not had a Bushnell winner for over three decades because, first and foremost, the W-L records have not warranted it. The coaches this year thought that Trey Peacock was such an exceptional player as to rise above his team's record but he's clearly an exception, as evidenced by prior winners.

The process is fair and, looking back over the years, pretty much on target. How many of the historical winners would you change? Fifteen percent? That's a pretty good batting average.

Take off the light-blue-colored glasses; the voting process is fine.

At Thu Dec 09, 11:13:00 PM GMT+7, Anonymous Anonymous said...

speaking of tight ends, how are we going to replace a superstar like kennedy next year?

At Fri Dec 10, 01:04:00 AM GMT+7, Anonymous Anonymous said...

This post may have gotten lost earlier... It was Big Green Alert that pointed out that coaches can only nominate one player. The Penn blog left that part out. As for Jake's lamenting Wilfork and Wiley not getting POY, I'm not sure he's on solid ground. Wilfork lost out POY to another linebacker (Penn's Goodville), who in my opinion, was just better than Wilfork. As for Wiley, he had the bad fortune of being the same year as Chad Levitt. Wiley probably took second in the voting that year. It's a shame for Wiley, but hard to say that he got robbed....

At Fri Dec 10, 03:26:00 AM GMT+7, Anonymous Anonymous said...

Not to mention most years the award goes to a QB or RB


Post a Comment

<< Home